Diving Into Life

Since I can remember, I have always been in love with water.  Funny thing is, I don’t remember how I learned to swim.  I never had lessons and I don’t remember my parents having to force me to get in the pool or the ocean; they simply provided the opportunities, and I took them myself.  For as long as I can recall, I have simply been one with water.  The way I see it, the first day I met the wet, cool stuff, we were one.

Birth of a Mermaid by Vinh Dang Tuan

It’s been this way for a lot of things in my life: ice skating, dancing, learning languages, traveling, cutting my hair, falling in love.  I tend to just dive in without much forethought or hesitation.  Something on the inside encourages me to act, so I follow up.  I’m not sure if this is the most appealing way to learn new things, but it has always seemed to work out in my favor.

The same thing is true for lifestyle changes.  I’ve recently embarked on a journey of holistic living, one that honors instinct over agenda, prevention over cure, and growth over complacency.  I decided one day that this was what I wanted, needed, and deserved in my life, and like everything else, I jumped right in!  I’m not yet savvy on all parts of living holistically and I don’t quite know where this journey will lead me, but what I do know is that my health and wellness are important to me, and I’m going to spend all the days that I have becoming one with the Universe.

This can be true for you as well.  It doesn’t have to be about a total transformation or a life change.  It can be as simple as learning to sew or cooking a new dish.  Whatever journey you choose to embark on, whatever desires you have,  dive into it with your whole heart set on freedom.  It’s easy and comfortable for us to analyze everything, and make excuses for why we can’t or don’t do certain things.  But what about the desires of your heart that seem inexplicable?  Those urges that we get to skip town, or the voices that we hear to try something new are your spirits’ way of communicating with you.  Listen and respond accordingly.  Mistakes in life are inevitable, and there may be times when you feel like you are in too deep.  Know that your spirit has your best interest at heart and doubles as a life preserver; it certainly will save itself, if only we LISTENED.

Sitting on the sidelines or wading in the shallow end of life doesn’t yield fulfillment and will most likely leave you feeling empty or filled with regret.  You are equipped with discernment, intuition, and age old wisdom, all you have to do is remember.  Our lives have been spent unlearning.  We have been programmed to act a certain way, believe a certain doctrine, forget, accept, and not wonder about all the beauty and diversity of life, or the beauty we possess.  If only we remembered, if only we believed in ourselves, if only we saw the light within us and in others…

The ocean is vast; 70% of our world is covered in uncharted waters so there is plenty of opportunity o take a dip.  Don’t worry about your hair, don’t worry about your clothing, don’t worry about the other people watching you.  Chances are that if you dive in, you will remember how empowering it is to swim…

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. well said! what you are doing is “tuning in”. once one tunes in with self and not ego, nature and not machine all things become harmonious and play a very melodic track that the soul enjoys!

    Reply
    • Thanks Dimitri,

      You are so right, and once that frequency has been found, the messages ring louder and with more clarity!

      In Love and Light,

      A.K.S.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

