Lessons Learned: The Story of a Beginner Detox Diva

This past weekend, I started my first [attempt at] detox.  It was quite an episode, and I think I moved too quickly through the process in some ways, but overall it was a rewarding experience.  I realized a lot about my own will and strength, and now feel like I am capable of doing a real detox in the very near future!

You may be curious as to why I called my detox an attempt.  It is because I quickly realized that while I did alter my diet significantly to only include fruits, veggies, a few herbs/supplements, and seeds (sunflower, sesame, and ground flax),  I did not give my body enough.  I rushed into a detox because I impatient.  My body told me to do it, and I did.  But because I had so many misunderstandings about what a detox is actually supposed to do, I got both ahead of and behind myself.  Below I will humbly share my mistakes, and offer some how-to’s (suggestions) for next time, which may also help you consider a detox plan that is right for you!

Mistake #1: I rushed right into a detox without fully understanding the purpose, or what I was doing.  

How-to: Research and plan your detox before you start.  Know exactly what you are trying to achieve.  There are detoxes, detox-fasts, and fasts (among other things).  For me, it was unnecessary to lose weight, so doing a “Master Cleanse” or “Lemonade Cleanse” for example, would not have been the best plan for me.  If you are detoxing for health reasons, know which detox is right for you by both consulting your doctor and doing your own personal research!  A good place to start is here.

Mistake #2: I tried to detox while also doing another health regimen and ended up briefly sick on day two.

How-to:  Do one health plan at a time.  Detoxing is already a challenge on your body and your mind.  If you do too much, you will overtax yourself, or worse, shut it down.  If you have other problems or things you are trying to work out, choose what is priority to you, then start one and finish it before starting another!  A detox should not render you lifeless!

Mistake #3:  I did not have enough food.

How-to: Have your resources in order.  If you know your plan ahead of time, you will make sure you have what you need.  Eating fruits, vegetables, and herbs or supplements is not enough.  You still need to eat enough at each meal-time, and variety is very important.  If you are doing a juice cleanse/detox, then you will need enough of the items needed to juice.  Each person is different, and is usually recommended that you eat/drink enough until you feel satisfied.  Gather your food ahead of time; it is not a good idea to collect as you go.

Mistake #4: I did not drink enough water.

How-to: Drink at least 64 oz. (2 quarts)  or more of water each day.  Water helps to flush out your system.  There is no other better way to say this.  And the best water is distilled, spring, or filtered.

Mistake #5:  I was not spiritually in tune at the start of this detox.

How-to: Center yourself spiritually.  If you are connected with your detox on a divine level, the above mistakes most likely won’t happen because your body will be in agreement with what you are doing.  Your body will speak to you and you will hear it tell you what to eat, how much to eat, when to drink, what physical activities can be done without wilting your energy, and it will also be very thankful for the opportunity to balance and heal itself.

While I share these mistakes with you, I do not beat myself up for not getting it right the first time.  I look at each mistake as a lesson from which I have learned, and can now share with you!  Detoxing should not be an arduous task, or a way to prevent you from doing anything (i.e. no this, or no that).  It should be a welcomed retreat, but because I was unprepared, I decided to end a earlier than I expected (3 days instead of 7).  What I can say improved for me during this time was my desire to heal my body on a more permanent basis, a better understanding of the purpose and functions of detoxing, my physical strength, bodily processes, and by virtue of intent my diet changed to include healthier foods and food preparation (check out this cool juicer I found!)!  Next month I will begin anew, this time wiser and better poised to ride out the entire detox!  

Below you will find an article that offers some basic information about detoxing.  I would also recommend checking out How to Detox Safely and 10 Food that Detox the Body , as well as doing your own personal research!  If you have any suggestions or experiences detoxing you’d like to share, please do! 

In Love, Truth, and Healing,

A.K.S.

Full-Body Detox Diet

By William Jackson

 

Full-Body Detox Dietthumbnail
Fruit plays a vital role in a full body detox.

 

The purpose of any good detox is to rid the human body of toxins. Fortunately, some expensive commercial product isn’t necessary to perform a full-body detox. The proper diet, especially when supplemented by necessary herbs and vitamins, can do the job just fine. If it’s more of a quick flush that you’re looking for, try a three-day, fruit-centric diet.

  1. Foods to Enjoy

    • All sorts of fruits and vegetables, whether frozen or fresh, are recommended for those on a natural, full-body detox diet.

      However, some vegetables are considered slightly more effective in moving the detoxification effort along. These include broccoli and broccoli sprouts, beets, red- and green-colored veggies, artichokes, cauliflower and especially garlic.

      Rice is a highly recommended grain, particularly brown rice. You can improve a natural body-cleansing diet by including other grains as well, such as millet, buckwheat and amaranth. Kidney beans and pinto beans are great for such a diet, as are lentils, garbanzo beans and mung beans. Raw nuts and seeds are also recommended, except for peanuts and peanut butter.

    Foods to Avoid

    • You should avoid anything that contains sugar if you are on a full-body detox diet—and that includes artificial sweeteners. Also avoid dairy products as a rule, including milk, cream cheese, sour cream, butter, and yogurt. And avoid grains that contain gluten, including wheat, barley and rye.

      Fatty foods, too, are out when it comes to most diets. So is junk food. As a rule, also avoid coffee, other caffeinated drinks and especially alcohol.

    Herbal Supplements

    • You may want to consider supplementing your full-body detox diet with some natural herbal cleansers. Ginger comes in many forms, including as a powder, as a tablet, as a capsule and as a tincture. The herb is well-known for its powerful circulation-stimulating properties. If you are pregnant, avoid large doses of ginger. Avoid the herb if you have gallstones, too.

      The bark of the prickly ash, also called toothache tree, is converted into a tincture or a powder. You should take the tincture two to three times daily, 1 tsp. Or add 1 tsp. of the powder to a cup of water and ingest it two to three times a day. Prickly ash is not recommended during pregnancy.

      Cayenne, or Capsicum minimum, also known as African bird pepper, typically comes in ointment, capsule, powder and tincture form. It is known primarily for its blood-movement stimulation properties and also for removing toxins in the blood. For artery cleansing, take between one and four capsules twice daily, or massage the ointment into the skin once a day. Side effects may include some gastrointestinal irritation, though this is not common.

    For Alcohol

    • If you are performing the full-body detox specifically to rid your body of alcohol and other alcohol-related toxins, consider taking the herb kudzu. Kudzu has been used to treat alcoholism for many years, especially in China. During a detox, the taking of kudzu can help combat the urge to drink–obviously common among recovering alcoholics. You can use kudzu in combination with coptis–an herb with known liver-cleansing properties.

      Milk thistle has long been considered an effective liver tonic, which is helpful if you are attempting an alcohol detox. Milk thistle, available at any herbal store, is best taken in combination with food.

      Increase your vitamin B intake. Alcoholics tend to be deficient when it comes to B vitamins. Ironically, alcoholism itself creates an increased physical need for these very vitamins. Taking 500 mg of niacin (vitamin B3) each day, for example, can not only help restore vitamin B levels—essential during an alcohol detox—but possibly also reduce the cravings for alcohol altogether. Some doctors recommend alcoholics ingest at least 100 mg of B-complex vitamins each and every day—but especially during a detox.

    Duration

    • You could be looking for something more along the lines of a three-day detox–something to flush out your system. In that case, drink only protein shakes on day one, then revert to a fruit-only diet (recommended: cantaloupe, strawberries, bananas, apples, and mangoes), plus a salad for dinner, on days two and three. This fruit-centric three-day detox diet concentrates on getting you water, fiber, anti-oxidants, minerals, and vitamins–all of which will help dissolve toxins, increase your energy level, and improve the function of your liver.

      Once the three-day fruit flush is complete, try to maintain the more long-term, healthy detox diet described in the sections above.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Hope you have a better experience with your next detoxes! 🙂 They are not easy and I’m with you on all the insights you’ve gained -had very similar experiences myself! sound advice all-around…Great article!

    Reply
    • Thank you so much! I hope (and know) I will have a better experience next time because I am aware of the changes needed. I’m curious, do you feel like you have gotten more comfortable with your detoxes? If so, may I ask what for you is working? Thanks again for your well wishes and for commenting/complimenting my entry:)

      Love,

      A.K.S.

      Reply
  2. Hi A.K.S.!
    Sorry I didn’t respond earlier -i’ve only just seen your reply! There are a couple of things that can help ease your detox experience in general. What I’ve learnt is that the best times to detox are fall and spring -winter is the most difficult with the climate being so harsh and most foods being light and Yin in nature, you’re putting your body out of balance at a time when your body can use more Yang foods. Another important factor to remember is that by ensuring you’ve got good clean fats and protein in every meal you’re not feeling famished and fatigued! So the detox recommendation above is great but I don’t agree with the ‘fruit only’ days. Your bodies detoxification processes require protein! So, organic free-range chicken, wild fish and nuts and seeds as well as olive oil and flax oil not only keep you feeling satisfied but also provide the necessary nutrients for detoxification.
    Also, I’ve found herbal teas containing licorice root help with the occasional sweet cravings that creep up 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

